Carter County, Montana

By | May 22, 2023

Carter County, Montana is located in the south-central part of the state and is bordered by Powder River County to the east, Custer County to the south, Fallon County to the west, and Prairie County to the north. The county covers an area of 2,728 square miles and has an average elevation of 2,865 feet. The terrain is mostly flat with rolling hills and some deep valleys. There are numerous streams and rivers running through Carter County including Big Dry Creek, Redwater Creek, Little Dry Creek, Cottonwood Creek, Squaw Creek, Little Missouri River and Big Muddy Creek. The climate in Carter County is semi-arid with cool winters and hot summers. Precipitation ranges from 11 to 16 inches per year with most occurring during spring months. There are several wildlife refuges located in Carter County including Lower Yellowstone Wildlife Management Area (LYWMA), Upper Yellowstone Wildlife Management Area (UYWMA), Eagle Butte National Grassland (EBNG) and Little Missouri National Grasslands (LMNG). These areas provide a variety of outdoor activities such as hunting, fishing, bird watching and camping. Additionally, there are several parks located in Carter County such as Bull Lake State Park which offers swimming facilities as well as boat ramps for access to Bull Lake.

Carter County, Montana

Country seat and other main cities of Carter County, Montana

The county seat of Carter County, Montana is Ekalaka, which is the largest city in the county with a population of just over 700 people. It is located in a picturesque valley surrounded by rolling hills and farmland. Ekalaka serves as a hub for local businesses and services and provides an array of recreational activities such as golfing, hunting, fishing, hiking and camping. According to COUNTRYAAH.COM, other cities in Carter County include Alzada, Baker, Plevna, Ismay and Hammond. Alzada is a small rural town located on the banks of the Little Missouri River with a population of around 200 people. Baker is another small rural town located on the banks of Redwater Creek with a population of around 400 people. Plevna is situated between Big Dry Creek and Squaw Creek with a population of around 300 people. Ismay is located on the banks of Cottonwood Creek with a population of around 150 people. Lastly Hammond is located on the banks of Big Muddy Creek with a population of around 100 people. All these cities provide basic amenities such as grocery stores, gas stations and restaurants for their residents’ convenience. Additionally, they are served by various school districts providing quality education to their students from pre-K through 12th grade.

History of Carter County, Montana

Carter County, Montana is located in the southeastern corner of the state and was established in 1914. The county was named after Thomas Henry Carter, a former United States Senator who served from 1879 to 1907. Prior to the establishment of the county, the area was largely inhabited by Native American tribes including the Crow and Sioux. In 1805, Lewis and Clark passed through what is now Carter County on their famous expedition.

During the late 19th century, settlers began to move into the area and homesteads were established throughout what is now Carter County. Railroads were built in order to transport goods and services throughout the area and towns began to spring up along these routes. By 1910, Ekalaka had become an important trade center for ranchers, farmers, miners and merchants alike.

In 1914, Carter County was officially established with Ekalaka serving as its county seat. Over time more towns began to develop such as Alzada, Baker, Plevna, Ismay and Hammond which all provided essential services for their residents. During this time period agriculture became an important part of life in Carter County with wheat being one of its primary crops. Additionally, livestock ranching also became popular with sheep being some of its most abundant animals raised in this region.

Today, Carter County is still home to numerous farms and ranches which provide agricultural products for local consumption as well as export abroad. It also continues to be a popular destination for outdoor enthusiasts who come here for activities such as hunting, fishing, bird watching and camping at one of its many wildlife refuges or parks such as Bull Lake State Park or Eagle Butte National Grassland. With its rich history and natural beauty it’s no wonder that Carter County remains a popular destination today.

Economy of Carter County, Montana

Carter County is an agricultural economy located in Eastern Montana. It is home to a wide variety of crops, including wheat, barley, oats, corn, hay, and peas. The county is also known for its livestock production, including beef cattle and sheep. Agriculture provides the backbone of the local economy and accounts for nearly one-third of all jobs in the county. Additionally, Carter County’s oil and natural gas industry has been growing rapidly over the past few years. This sector has provided much needed economic growth to the region as well as jobs for local residents. The county has also seen a steady increase in tourism in recent years due to its proximity to Yellowstone National Park and other attractions such as fishing and hunting. In addition to these industries, Carter County is home to several small businesses that provide goods and services to its citizens. These businesses range from grocery stores and hardware stores to auto repair shops and restaurants. Overall, Carter County’s economy is diverse with something for everyone.